Durham County Veteran Ladies' Golf Association


We enjoyed a gorgeous sunny day at Eaglescliffe GC on Wednesday 2nd June.  

Congratulations to Susan Handley and Debbie Gilbertson of Heworth who won Best Nett with a fabulous 72.8.  They are the winners of the Lenore Ewart Pin Trays.

Congratulations to Chris Pascall( Hartlepool) and Rosie Preston ( Brancepeth) who scored a fabulous Best Gross of 82.  They are the winners of the Joan Metcalfe Elgee Armada Dishes. 

For full nett results click here

For full gross results click here


Two extremely close matches this morning with Marianne Moore beating Lyn Davison on the 18th and Sue Musgrove beating Claire Miller in extra time at the 19th.  A small gallery in the afternoon was treated to some excellent golf, but in the end Sue won by 3/2 and is our 2021 Champion.
 With four Byes there were only four morning matches, the winners being Barbara Davis, Susan Handley, Carol Rae and Lynn Stearman.  The afternoon quarter finals were played in glorious sunshine, much more pleasant than yesterday's gale but the wind and the sun had combined to make the greens very slick; uphill putts were at a premium!
On Friday two Brancepeth players Lyn Davison and Marianne Moore will meet in the first semi-final,  while Claire Miller and Sue Musgrove wlll be battling for the other place in the final.     Please click here for the Matchplay results
Lyn Davison, Brancepeth Castle G C, had the Best Gross and won the Guthe Picture with a score of 79.  Lyn also won the Coronation Salver with a great Nett score of 71. Well done Lyn.
Susan Handley won the Nett Voucher with a score of 75. 
Sue Musgrove won the Betty Staincliffe Trophy with a Gross score of 84.
Well done to all the competitors who played today, it was cool and breezy making the course very difficult. We are looking forward to the start of the Match play stages tomorrow Tuesday 15th June with the semi and finals on Friday. Spectators are welcome for both days." 
 Captain Jennifer


Congratulations to Ann Corbett and Denise Burke winning the Sivewright Salvers  at Houghton Le Spring Golf Club yesterday with 43 points. 
2nd Janice Peacock and Anne Ingle
3rd Lynn Stearman and Sue McCardle 
Best Gross Michelle Hogg and Julie Elliott winning the Sheila Dunn Bon Bon Dishes
Janice Peacock and Anne Ingle won the Team Shield for Heworth.
For more results, CLICK HERE
FOUND  Found at Houghton le Spring G C:   1) black gilet   2) orange /pink log sleeved top
Available to be collected at the Jean Wood Competition on Friday 27th August at Consett Golf Club. 


Scramble winners 2021

  It was a great day for the Houghton le-Spring team of Shelley Hogg, Julie Elliott, Ann Young, Mags Shaw and  who had the winning score of 60 in the Texas Scramble at Whitburn. Congratulations!     One shot behind was the home team of Viv Atkinson, Susan O'Brien, Thelma Beaney and Joan Cuthberson while third place went to the Tyneside team, Claire Miller, Janet Burdis, Sue Scott and Anne Biggs after a tie with Serina Turnbull, Marion Burton, Irene Austin and Pat Moses with a score of 62. Also on 62 was the Consett team, Annette Walton, Pat Burton, Margaret Southworth and Christine McMichael.  For full results, please CLICK HERE


Sue presentation  Congratulations to our new Vets Champion Sue Musgrove, seen here receiving the Trophy from Captain Jennifer and Vice-Captain Del.

 Sue beat Marianne Moore in an exciting final having beaten Claire Miller in the morning after an extra hole.  Marianne beat her Brancepeth clubmate Lyn Davison on the last green.  Spectators were treated to some very good and exciting golf on a lovely course.

 The Selectors have named the following players as the Squad for the remianing Richardson Trophy matches.  Sue Musgrove;  Karen Lee;  Marianne Moore;  Lyn Davison;  Claire Miller;  Barbara Davis;  Sarah Hirst;  Janet Burdis;  Chris Pullan;  Carol Rae.

 There is a full report of the Championship in the latest 'Captain's Blog', the daily reports are in 'Results' and a selection of photos in the Gallery.

More Articles ...