Durham County Veteran Ladies' Golf Association

Captain’s Blog June 2021

 On Friday the 18th June we held the semifinals and final of our Championship at Brancepeth Castle GC.

 Congratulations go to our new Champion, Sue Musgrove (Hobson GC) who won the Lewtas Cup. We send Sue our best wishes when leading our team in future Richardson Trophy matches.

 We watched some excellent golf in the final and commiserations go to Marianne Moore (Brancepeth Castle GC) who won the Ena Milburn President’s Plate as runner up. Semi finalists were Lyn Davison (Brancepeth Castle GC) and Claire Miller (Tyneside GC). Lyn is a previous Champion (2016,2017) and Claire was runner up in 2019. Well done on reaching the semifinals and playing against some tough opposition to get there.

 Thanks to Brancepeth Castle GC for allowing us to host this rearranged Championship in the middle of a very busy period at the club. The weather all week was warm but breezy and made the course and especially the greens very challenging.

 My thanks to Dell Brady my V/C, Gill Birkby our Past President who kindly stepped in to carry out the presidents duties while Lesley isolated. We send Lesley our best wishes for a speedy recovery from her knee surgery and look forward to seeing her on the course and at our competitions in the near future. My final thanks goes to Anne Biggs who volunteered to referee the final.

Our selectors have chosen the following squad for our next Richardson Trophy match against Northumberland at Tynemouth GC on 15th July.

Sue Musgrove;  Karen Lee;  Marianne Moore;  Lyn Davison;  Claire Miller;  Barbara Davis;  Sarah Hirst;  Janet Burdis;  Chris Pullan;  Carol Rae

Our next competition is the American Texas Scramble at Whitburn GC on the 26th July.  Please send your entries to Elaine Reilly, our Treasurer.We look forward to seeing you all at Whitburn and that the weather stays fine for some good golf.

Best wishes

Captain Jennifer